Skip to content


School Community Councils (SCC’s) improve educational programs and conditions at public schools. Councils operate using the shared governance approach: collaborative, site-based decision making to meet individual school improvement goals. Every public school in Utah has a community council consisting of two elected groups: parents (that’s you!) and teachers/administrators.

The Southland SCC has responsibilities defined both by the Jordan School District and the Utah Legislature. Two of our biggest responsibilities are assisting in the development of School Improvement Plans (SIP’s) and LAND Trust Plans. SCC’s also work on issues brought forth by parents, staff, and faculty.

How can I get involved with the Southland SCC?

• Complete an application to become a voting member (completed by the September deadline each year) and attend scheduled meetings OR
• Attend scheduled meetings as a public member (no voting rights)
• Read the minutes
• Become an elected member (elections held at the last meeting of the school year)

School Community Council Meetings

We invite you to attend Southland Elementary SCC meetings to learn about our greatest academic needs, our School Improvement Plan and help in the decision-making process for using LAND Trust funds. At Southland, we also regularly discuss school safety, share District news, get PTO Updates, and talk about other important issues affecting our school. You have a voice and together we can make a positive difference in the education of our children!

2019/20  Meeting Schedule

All meetings are held in the Media Center at 5:30 p.m.

Sept 25, 2019

September 25th Minutes


Nov 21, 2019


Jan 23, 2020

Mar 26, 2020

May 28, 2020-TBD

Please click the link below to review notes from past meetings.


SCC MAY Minutes


May 16 Southland SCC Meeting Agenda and NotesMay 2019 SCC Agenda2018/2019 Final Land Trust Report

Learn more about shared governance and the role of councils here:
School Land and Trust 
Jordan School District School Community Council Resources 

Southland School Community Council Contacts

2019/2020 School Year

Member Name Email Phone Role
Angela Greer 801-280-5400 Chair
Beth Kunz 801-347-6648 Vice-Chair
Sarah Elliott Secretary
Bryant Curtis 435-668-1758 Treasurer
Lisa Jackson 801-254-8047 Principal
Vanessa Burton PTO Representative
Lacey Butterfield 801-254-8047 School Employee
Lisa Nielsen 801-254-8047 School Employee
Adrian Russell Parent
Brenda Bingham Parent
Nicky Sawaya 801-639-9358 Parent