Skip to content

SCHOOL COMMUNITY COUNCIL

School Community Councils (SCC’s) improve educational programs and conditions at public schools. Councils operate using the shared governance approach: collaborative, site-based decision making to meet individual school improvement goals. Every public school in Utah has a community council consisting of two elected groups: parents (that’s you!) and teachers/administrators.

The Southland SCC has responsibilities defined both by the Jordan School District and the Utah Legislature. Two of our biggest responsibilities are assisting in the development of School Improvement Plans (SIP’s) and LAND Trust Plans. SCC’s also work on issues brought forth by parents, staff, and faculty.

How can I get involved with the Southland SCC?

• Complete an application to become a voting member (completed by the September deadline each year) and attend scheduled meetings OR
• Attend scheduled meetings as a public member (no voting rights)
• Read the minutes
• Become an elected member (elections held at the last meeting of the school year)

School Community Council Meetings

We invite you to attend Southland Elementary SCC meetings to learn about our greatest academic needs, our School Improvement Plan, and help in the decision-making process for using LAND Trust funds. At Southland we also regularly discuss school safety, share District news, get PTO Updates, and talk about other important issues affecting our school. You have a voice and together we can make a positive difference in the education of our children!

2018 - 2019 Meeting Schedule

Sept 20, 2018 at 5:30; Nov 15, 2018 at 5:30; Jan 17, 2019 at 5:30; Mar 21, 2019 at 5:30

Please click the link below to review notes from the meetings.

SCC Sept. 2018 Notes

SCC Nov. 2018 Notes

Resources

2017-2018 Southland Land Trust Report
Learn more about shared governance and the role of councils here:
School Land and Trust 
Jordan School District School Community Council Resources 

Southland School Community Council Contacts

2018/2019 School Year

Member Name Email Phone Role
Danie Natter danie.natter82@gmail.com Chair (Parent)
Angela Greer Ususl1p7@hotmail.com Vice Chair (Parent)
Lisa Jackson lisa.jackson@jordandistrict.org 801-254-8047 Principal
Vanessa Burton Nessa.burton@gmail.com Secretary
Lacey Butterfield lacey.butterfield@jordandistrict.org School Employee
Lisa Nielsen lisa.nielsen@jordandistrict.org School Employee
Shelli Smith shelliwsmith@gmail.com Parent
Amber James Realty.amberjames@gmail.com Parent
Lisa Evans lisabevans@gmail.com Parent
Heather Parry heatherparry5@gmail.com Parent