Skip to content

School Community Council

School Community Councils (SCC’s) improve educational programs and conditions at public schools. Councils operate using the shared governance approach: collaborative, site-based decision making to meet individual school improvement goals. Every public school in Utah has a community council consisting of two elected groups: parents (that’s you!) and teachers/administrators.

The Southland SCC has responsibilities defined both by the Jordan School District and the Utah Legislature. Two of our biggest responsibilities are assisting in the development of School Improvement Plans (SIP’s) and LAND Trust Plans. SCC’s also work on issues brought forth by parents, staff, and faculty.

How can I get involved with the Southland SCC?

• Complete an SCC Application to become a voting member (completed by the September deadline each year) and attend scheduled meetings OR

• Attend scheduled meetings as a public member (no voting rights)

• Read the minutes

• Become an elected member (elections held at the last meeting of the school year)

School Community Council Meetings

We invite you to attend Southland Elementary SCC meetings to learn about our greatest academic needs, our School Improvement Plan and help in the decision-making process for using LAND Trust funds. At Southland, we also regularly discuss school safety, share District news, get PTO Updates, and talk about other important issues affecting our school. You have a voice and together we can make a positive difference in the education of our children!

Southland SCC Rules of Order and Procedure

Southland's LAND Trust Distribution(s):

2021-2022 School Year: $90,462

2020-2021 School Year: $87,015

2019-2020 School Year: $95,971

2021/2022 Meeting Schedule

Due to the uncertainty related to COVID conditions, this schedule and method of meeting may change if needed.

  • Thursday September 16, 2021-5:30 p.m. our initial meeting this year will take place in-person, in the school's library. We will discuss our preference for either continuing to meet in-person moving forward, or if we will transition to Zoom meetings in the future. That preference may be adjusted regardless of expressed preferences if COVID conditions demand a transition to online meeting.
  • Thursday November 18, 2021-5:30 p.m.
  • Thursday January 20, 2022-5:30 p.m.
  • Thursday March 10, 2022-5:30 p.m.
  • Thursday May 19, 2022-5:30 p.m.

2021/2022 Southland School Community Council Contacts

Member Email Phone Role
Sharon Kartchner skartch@gmail.com 801-860-8680 Chair
Katie Enniss katie.shaha@gmail.com 801-916-4242 Vice Chair
Rebecca Shreve rebeccashreve.JD@gmail.com 801-834-7770 Secretary/Treasurer
Amy Kalbes amy.kalbes@gmail.com 208-585-4375 PTO Representative
Garett York garett.york@jordandistrict.org 801-254-8047 Principal
DaNae Thurman danaethurman@live.com 801-201-9117 Parent
Jennifer Preece jen.t.preece@gmail.com 801-875-3334 Parent
Tim Ashley tim.ashley3391@gmail.com 801-647-7148 Parent
Adrienne Borg maborgs@msn.com 801-865-9705 Parent
Angela Greer USUSL1P7@hotmail.com 801-280-5400 Parent
Ashley Rogers ashleyfrancom@hotmail.com 702-672-3149 Parent
Danie Natter dnatter@graniteschools.org 801-631-2052 Parent
Joshua Harrison joshua.harrison.2011@outlook.com 801-580-4521 Parent
Kierstin Glenn kpglenn@gmail.com 801-450-9906 Parent
Nicole Campbell nicole@campbellcrawlers.com 801-792-9272 Parent
Susan McDougal susan.energyelectric@msn.com 801-718-5878 Parent
Allyson Stovall allyson.stovall@jordandistrict.org 801-254-8047 School Employee
Brooke Hare brooke.hare@jordandistrict.org 435-406-4467 School Employee
Lacey Butterfield lacey.butterfield@jordandistrict.org 801-254-8047 School Employee
Lay Kou lay.kou@jordandistrict.org 801-831-1914 School Employee
Lisa Nielsen lisa.nielsen@jordandistrict.org 801-254-8047 School Employee
Mike Wei jia.wei@jordandistrict.org 385-337-1034 School Employee

Copies of previous year's SCC minutes can be found in the main office at Southland Elementary

Southland SCC Minutes March 10, 2022

Southland SCC Minutes January 20, 2022

Southland SCC Minutes November 18, 2021

Southland SCC Minutes September 16, 2021

Southland SCC Minutes March 18, 2021

Southland SCC Minutes January 28, 2021

Southland SCC Minutes November 19, 2020

Southland SCC Minutes September 24, 2020

Southland SCC Minutes March 31, 2020

Southland SCC Minutes January 23, 2020

Southland SCC Minutes September 26, 2019

Southland SCC Minutes May 16, 2019

Resources:

Southland Elementary Land Trust Plan 2021/2022

Southland Elementary Final Land Trust Plan 2020/2021

2020-2021 Southland School Improvement-TSSA PLAN

Southland Elementary Land Trust 2019/2020

Learn more about shared governance and the role of councils here:

School Land Trust 

Jordan School District School Community Council Resources