Skip to content

School Community Council

School Community Councils (SCC’s) improve educational programs and conditions at public schools. Councils operate using the shared governance approach: collaborative, site-based decision making to meet individual school improvement goals. Every public school in Utah has a community council consisting of two elected groups: parents (that’s you!) and teachers/administrators.

The Southland SCC has responsibilities defined both by the Jordan School District and the Utah Legislature. Two of our biggest responsibilities are assisting in the development of School Improvement Plans (SIP’s) and LAND Trust Plans. SCC’s also work on issues brought forth by parents, staff, and faculty.

How can I get involved with the Southland SCC?

• Complete an SCC Application to become a voting member (completed by the September deadline each year) and attend scheduled meetings OR

• Attend scheduled meetings as a public member (no voting rights)

• Read the minutes

• Become an elected member (elections held at the last meeting of the school year)

School Community Council Meetings

We invite you to attend Southland Elementary SCC meetings to learn about our greatest academic needs, our School Improvement Plan and help in the decision-making process for using LAND Trust funds. At Southland, we also regularly discuss school safety, share District news, get PTO Updates, and talk about other important issues affecting our school. You have a voice and together we can make a positive difference in the education of our children!

Southland SCC Rules of Order and Procedure

Southland's LAND Trust Distribution(s):

2022-2023 School Year: $90,483

2021-2022 School Year: $90,462

2020-2021 School Year: $87,015

2022/2023 Meeting Schedule

Due to the uncertainty related to COVID conditions, this schedule and method of meeting may change if needed.

  • Thursday September 22, 2022-5:30 p.m.
  • Thursday November 17, 2022-5:30 p.m.
  • Thursday January 19, 2023-5:30 p.m.
  • Thursday March 16, 2023-5:30 p.m.
  • Thursday May 18, 2023-5:30 p.m.

2022/2023 Southland School Community Council Contacts

Member Email Phone Role
Katie Enniss katie.shaha@gmail.com 801-916-4242 Chair
Jennifer Preece jen.t.preece@gmail.com 801-875-3334 Vice Chair
Allyson Stovall allyson.stovall@jordandistrict.org 801-254-8047 Secretary/Treasurer
Julia Halliday 801-652-0849 PTO Representative
Garett York garett.york@jordandistrict.org 801-254-8047 Principal
DaNae Thurman danaethurman@live.com 801-201-9117 Parent
Adrienne Borg maborgs@msn.com 801-865-9705 Parent
Tara Toraya ciaomisstara@hotmail.com 801-209-8214 Parent
Danie Natter dnatter@graniteschools.org 801-631-2052 Parent
Joshua Harrison joshua.harrison.2011@outlook.com 801-580-4521 Parent
Kierstin Glenn kpglenn@gmail.com 801-450-9906 Parent
Brooke Glaittli brooke@utahlandgroup.com 801-554-2332 Parent
Cheron Bradfield cheronbradfield@gmail.com 801-696-9038 Parent
Jennifer Curdie jennifer.curdie@jordandistrict.org 801-254-8047 School Employee
Emily Mitarai emily.mitarai@jordandistrict.org 801-254-8047 School Employee
Lacey Butterfield lacey.butterfield@jordandistrict.org 801-254-8047 School Employee
Lisa Nielsen lisa.nielsen@jordandistrict.org 801-254-8047 School Employee

Copies of previous year's SCC minutes can be found in the main office at Southland Elementary

Southland SCC Minutes March 10, 2022

Southland SCC Minutes January 20, 2022

Southland SCC Minutes November 18, 2021

Southland SCC Minutes September 16, 2021

Southland SCC Minutes March 18, 2021

Southland SCC Minutes January 28, 2021

Southland SCC Minutes November 19, 2020

Southland SCC Minutes September 24, 2020

Southland SCC Minutes March 31, 2020

Southland SCC Minutes January 23, 2020

Southland SCC Minutes September 26, 2019

Southland SCC Minutes May 16, 2019

Resources:

Southland Elementary Land Trust Plan 2022/2023

Southland Elementary Land Trust Plan 2021/2022

Southland Elementary Land Trust Plan 2020/2021

2022-2023 Southland TSSA Plan - TSSA PLAN

2020-2021 Southland School Improvement-TSSA PLAN

Learn more about shared governance and the role of councils here:

School Land Trust 

Jordan School District School Community Council Resources